The Department of Physics of the University of Patras was founded in 1964 and is among the oldest Departments of our University. It is located at the University of Patras campus, about 8 km north of downtown Patras. Currently it is divided in four Sections, namely:

  • Applied Physics
  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Electronics and Computers, and
  • Theoretical & Mathematical Physics, Astronomy & Astrophysics.

The faculty of the Department offer undergraduate and graduate courses not only at the Department but also in other Departments of the University of Patras and other Greek and foreign Universities.

Research is a key activity as demonstrated by the number of papers published annually in peer reviewed international scientific journals and also by the number of international research programs in which our faculty participate. Our faculty has built along the years close collaborations with universities, research institutes and industries in Europe, the USA and Asia. Senior faculty members of the Department are internationally recognized scientists in their fields.

The main research fields of the Department are

  • Applications in Organic Electronics - Design, fabrication and characterization of optoelectronic and photonic devices such as solar cells and light emitting diodes
  • Astronomy – Observational Astrophysics
  • Astroparticle Physics
  • Atmospheric & Environmental Physics
  • Composite Materials
  • Computational Physics
  • Design of Analog & Digital Integrated Circuits
  • Design of Embedded Digital Signal Processing Systems
  • Digital Information Processing (Signal & Image, Biometrics, Computer Vision)
  • Gravity Theory
  • Inorganic semiconductors and oxides - Electrical and photoelectric properties
  • Lasers, Non-linear and Quantum Optics
  • Organic semiconductors and conjugated polymers - Optoelectronic, structural and charge transport properties
  • Physics of Polymers and Liquid Crystals
  • Quantum Foundations and Quantum Information
  • Renewable Energy Sources
  • Semiconductor Physics – Microelectronics



The Department of Physics includes the following laboratories and research groups: 

Applied Physics Section

Condensed Matter Section

Electronics and Computers Section



Undergraduate Program of Studies in Physics (Bachelor Degree, 4 years of studies)


Graduate Programs: 


Professor Anastassopoulos Vassilis
Deputy Chairman: 
Associate Professor Leftheriotis Georgios
Dionisios Pittouras
2610 996061
2610 996072
2610 996073
Department of Physics
University Campus
26504 Patras