The Department of Philosophy is a new department. It was founded in September 1999 when it enrolled its first 157 students. It is the only department of its kind in Greece, being the only department at a Greek university which awards an undergraduate degree (ptychio) in philosophy.

Its undergraduate curriculum focuses both on the close reading of texts from the philosophical canon, as well as on contemporary philosophical issues. The former in itself constitutes one aspect of the practice of philosophy and provides the background necessary to the understanding of contemporary debates, while the latter provides the framework of concepts and problems required to interpret classical philosophical texts in a fruitful way.



Profesor Kontos Pavlos
Deputy Chairman: 
Associate Professor Goudeli Kyriaki
Charikleia Vergi
+30 2610 997817
+30 2610 997818
+30 2610 997819
Department of Philosophy
University of Patras
265 04 Patras