The Department of Philosophy’s MA program, “Theoretical and Practical Philosophy”, delivers Masters degrees in two areas of specialization:

(a) Epistemology and Metaphysics, (b) Ethics and Political Philosophy.

Duration of the program is two years. Students follow a common curriculum in the first year before choosing their area of specialization. In the second year of studies, students follow only courses in their area of specialization. Students are required to submit and defend a Masters thesis in their specialization at the end of second year. The curricula for both specializations focus on contemporary (analytic as well as continental) philosophy, philosophy of the 18th and 19th centuries and ancient greek philosophy.

The Masters program is open to (a) philosophy graduates who wish to conduct research in philosophy and acquire deeper and more specialized knowledge of philosophy; (b) graduates of other academic disciplines interested in fundamental philosophical questions pertaining to their original disciplines; and (c) secondary-school teachers seeking to acquire advanced knowledge of philosophy.