Doctoral studies aim to create high-quality and up-to-date scientific research, as well as to train scientists capable of contributing to the advancement and development of science and basic research. Doctorates are intended to staff the research, business and educational potential of the country and abroad. At the same time, the doctoral program is a source of academic prestige and international academic excellence for the Department, as well as for the University in general, and contributes to the qualitative and quantitative enhancement of research output.

The minimum qualifications of PhD students are:
a) University Degree (HEI or TEI) of the country of origin or recognized as a foreign equivalent institution.
b) Postgraduate Diploma (MSc.) obtained in a Greek instiution or from a foreign institution recognized by the DOATAP as an equivalent, or holding an integrated postgraduate degree, in accordance with article 46 of Decree 4485/2017.

In exceptional cases (such as excellent quality and state-of-the-art scientific publication or patent or professional experience relevant to the subject of the Doctoral Thesis), and after a reasoned decision of the Department's Assembly may be accepted as a PhD candidate applicants not holding a MSc degree. Graduates of TEI, ASPAITE or equivalent institution can only be accepted as PhD candidates if they hold a MSc degree. Specifically for PhD candidates who do not hold a MSc, the duration of the PhD studies is set at a minimum of 4 years. Candidate PhDs, who are admitted exceptionally without MSc, are required to complete an organized course set by the Assembly of the Department. In this case, compulsory course attendance is taken in consideration for the minimum time required to obtain a doctorate.

The time for obtaining a doctorate may not be less than three (3) full calendar years from the date of appointment of the three-member advisory committee.


Department of Geology