Doctoral studies aim at creating high-quality and up-to-date scientific research, as well as training scientists capable of contributing to the advancement and progress of science and research. Graduates of doctoral programs are intended to staff the research, business and educational workforce of the country and abroad. At the same time, the doctoral program is a source of academic prestige and international academic excellence for the Department, as well as for the University in general, and contributes to the qualitative and quantitative upgrading of research production in cutting-edge areas of Animal Production, Aquaculture and Fisheries sectors.

The minimum qualifications of candidate PhD students are:
a) University Degree from a Greek University or an equivalent foreign institution,
b) Postgraduate Diploma (MSc) from a Greek University or an equivalent foreign institution as recognized by the Hellenic NARIC (National Academic Recognition Information Center)  or having a single postgraduate degree, in accordance with Article 46 of Law 4485/2017.

In special cases (e.g., high-quality scientific publication or patent) and after a reasoned decision of the Department's General Assembly, candidates who do not hold an MSc degree can be accepted as PhD candidates. Graduates of the School of Pedagogical and Technological Education or equivalent institutions can be accepted as candidates only if they hold a MSc degree.

Candidates who do not hold an MSc degree or hold an MSc degree in a field other than that of the candidate's proposed PhD project, are required to complete an organized course designated by the General Assembly, in accordance with Article 4.2 of this Study Regulation. In these cases, the minimum required time in order to obtain a PhD degree is 4 years. Compulsory course attendance is being counted in the minimum required time in order to obtain the degree.

The time period for obtaining the Doctoral Degree may not be less than three (3) full calendar years from the date of designation of the three-membered Advisory Committee.


Department of Animal Production, Fisheries & Aquaculture

ΦΕΚ Κανονισμού